Cooks in the Kitchen

I am always so amazed as I watch people get food ready in the kitchen for a party. We were at my cousins house for St. Patrick’s Day, her birthday, and my Aunt Nora’s birthday. Everything seems pretty relaxed, just a couple of quick checks that most people probably wouldn’t even notice…until SHOWTIME. As serving time approaches, it’s all hands on deck in the kitchen (as long as you aren’t getting in the way). Everyone is working like a fine oiled machine. Take the pan out of the oven (hope it’s finished), put the hot pad on the counter, cut the meat, cut the bread, take out the salad dressing, and the list goes on. It’s almost like watching a juggling act as pans, dishes, silverware, and baskets are being taken down, put out, and passed around. As the cooks in the kitchen finish putting out the last details of dinner, the dinner call is heard and passed throughout the house, and the masses of family and friends rush to the kitchen as if famished. The cooks fade to the back…PHEW!…is written all over their faces!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cooks in the Kitchen

  1. Nicole F. says:

    Oh I love this piece — you capture so eloquently that short period of time just as everything is ready and needs to be set out. I love how you said like a fine oiled machine, my husband and I seem to just know what needs to get done, and then all too quickly it is all gone!!

    Neat idea to capture in your slice today … have a good week!

    Nicole

  2. dmurphy2013 says:

    It always amazes me, too! I had Thanksgiving dinner 2 years ago and the 20 minutes leading up to dinner were MADNESS in my kitchen! If you’re not helping… GET OUT! Great slice!

  3. Reminds me of the final hour before I put out my Thanksgiving dinner.

  4. I have a lot of family dinners at my house and you hit the nail on the head. You are welcome in my kitchen if you are going to help. If you’re not helping, you are welcome to sit at the counter and chat while the rest of us get dinner on the table. Great slice!

Leave a Reply

