My Grandma

My grandma used to watch my brother and I a lot when we were little. She was there for a little while before and after school, and in the summers. She was the most vivacious babysitter that we ever had. She and my grandpa lived next door to us (they still live next to my parents’ house), so it was very convenient for us to have her come over. My brother and I fought like cats and dogs, so it required a lot of energy to watch us. She managed to keep us entertained and usually out of trouble. We had so much fun with her. In the winter she would jump rope with us in one of the hallways in our house. We built fort after fort out of the family room and living room couch cushions and extra bed sheets. We played hide-and-seek for hours. Jeff and I got to become pretty good rummy players. In the summer she spent hours with us in the pool, helping us learn to swim. She always made us an after school snack. Baked potatoes are the memory that comes back to me. She would cook them in the oven, and poke steam holes in them. She always made sure to poke holes in the shape of an M for me and in the shape of a J for my brother.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Grandma

  1. Delilah says:

    Great memories of our grandma, she sounds extra special!

  2. Lori Kidder says:

    I’m going to copy the letter shapes what a great idea!

  3. ccahill2013 says:

    First off, Michelle, I’m trying to picture you as a child fighting like cats and dogs with your brother! So funny! What a sweet grandmother you have. I’m so happy to hear about the wonderful childhood you had – with her there right next door. So great!

  4. I love grandma stories. Your grandma sounds very special. I had the same kind of relationship with my grandma. She was so fun to be around. Thanks for sharing your memories of a special lady.

Leave a Reply

