Signs of Maturity?

Did you notice how incredibly beautiful the huge wet snowflakes were drifting down out of the sky? Landing on and blanketing every tiny branch of every tree I passed as I went for a drive (to visit my Mom at work today)? I ventured through the haze of a gentle winter storm. The frozen white trees reached their arms to the sky and leaned over the road as I drove underneath them. Pristine and white for as far as I could see, like a magical forest found only in a snowglobe. Gone are the bare lonely brown branches standing tall most of the winter. Like a fluffy white blanket wrapped around them as they snuggle up for a winter nap.

10 years ago I drove this same path during the winter after a heavy snow. A woman, more mature than I asked me about the amazing landscape I passed on my way in. My response then….What trees!?

Do we ‘stop to smell the roses’ more as we mature? (notice I did NOT say grow older :-))

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Signs of Maturity?

  1. This post made me smile. I think it’s true. As we “gain more life experience,” we learn to appreciate and notice more that drifts in and out of our lives. 🙂

  2. brighidk28 says:

    I totally agree! I was on the train home from downtown this afternoon and said out loud, “Wow. Look at those branches. How gorgeous are they?.” HA! Of course I really meant it, but I couldn’t believe I said it out loud. I think it’s awesome the wonder that we acknowledge, when we take the time to notice. I thought the same thoughts all day. 🙂 And I’m totally not old- just mature.

Leave a comment